Tags

I’ve been having a nightmare with my WP7 phone and a Zune account which is still linked to my old UK address. Basically, when trying to sign in in my current location, the Zune software I need to sync the phone won’t work, because my Windows Live ID is still somehow linked to an ancient Zune account registered in the UK using the same Windows Live ID.

Over a  year with MS support got me nowhere.  You can see in the photo what trying to sign in gets me using the same accounts, both with US location, and my PC set to US.

My Windows Live ID (Hotmail account) is set to US location.
My PC is set to US location.
My Phone is to US location.
My WindowsPhone.com account is set to US.

Yet I still cannot sing in to anything, because this ancient Zune ID will not go away, and keeps linking to my Windows Live ID (Hotmail address).  It doesn’t seem I can delete the Zune ID for love nor money, and MS support will not do it for me!    I obviously do not want to delete my 15 year old Hotmail address…

Here’s someone else with a blog who has also had a nightmare on the same issue:

http://gcoupe.wordpress.com/2012/05/16/at-long-last-a-result/

*********************
Spurred on by Geoff’s success, i once again dug p my old support request with Microsoft, and see where we could get to.

So here goes, posting some of the fun times i’ve been having, chatting with MS, Zune and XBOX support online…

ATTEMPTS 1, 2 AND 3, TRYING THROUGH ZUNE SUPPORT

Firstly, details of my last chat with with Zune Support – this was the 3rd time the case had been re-opened, in between bouts of apathy by myself, and frustration with getting nowhere.

PLEASE NOTE -THIS IS COPIED FROM AN EMAIL CHAIN, SO GO TO THE BOTTOM OF THIS NEXT SECTION THEN WORK UP

Hello Dominic:We are sorry to hear this is still an issue.  The deleting of accounts is something we cannot do here at Zune/Windows phone support.  I saw in the blog that the blogger was contacted by Xbox in regards to getting is account canceled.  At this time the only solution we have to make changes to the Xbox/Zune account and it’s related Live Id is via a Xbox console.If you would like to explore solutions that Xbox may have for you they can be contacted at 0800 587 1102.  I really do wish I was able to accomodate your request but we simply do not have the ability to make the changes you are looking to make.  We hope Xbox is able to better assist.For any future questions you may have, consider using our Microsoft Answers site. You can post questions or comments and engage with product professionals from Microsoft and the consumer product community.

Warmest regards,
Zune Customer Support

Microsoft respects your privacy. To learn more, please read our Privacy StatementMicrosoft Corporation
One Microsoft Way
Redmond, WA, USA 98052

— Original Message —
From : “Dominic Bufton”
Sent : Saturday, July 07, 2012 5:06:21 PM UTC
To : “Microsoft Support”
Subject : RE: SRX1165693580ID – Zune Live, Troubleshooting, The customer has multiple Zune tags associated to one Windows Live ID, Escalated

Hi,

This is still an issue, and a major one now that I have my new WP7 hone, which I cannot synch as I cannot sign into ZUNE.

All I need is for someone to delete my old Zune / Xbox ID of   BlXXXXXXXX   I cannot do this as I do not have an xbox available.

I am now publishing this issue on my blog, and have linked to one of the many others experiencing the same issue – he got a result by writing a formal letter of complaint to MS European HQ.   Hi blog details how it IS possible for MS support to do this for me.

Please do not make me have to go through the same method.

His blog his here:
http://gcoupe.wordpress.com/2012/05/16/at-long-last-a-result/

Mine is here:
https://boma23.wordpress.com/2012/07/07/microsoft-live-ids-zune-id-and-nightmares-for-windows-phone-7-if-your-go-international-5/

PLEASE can this be resolved soon.  As a Microsoft Support professional I cannot understand how this is so difficult.

My Full Name
My Work Signature

From: Microsoft Support [mailto:WINMO.WMOS.WW.00.EN.STR.BEA.WP.T02.SPT.00.EM@css.one.microsoft.com]
Sent: Saturday, 04 February, 2012 3:13 PM
To: My Name
Subject: RE: SRX1165693580ID – Zune Live, Troubleshooting, The customer has multiple Zune tags associated to one Windows Live ID, Escalated

Hi Dom,

I want to apolozie for the delay, I needed some time to get info from my resources for this.
What is happening is that your account has two different billing accounts tied to the same Live ID, This can cause problems as our system expects you to only have one billing account tied to the Live ID.

All of your app purchases are tied to your Gamertag, which is a different entity than your Live ID. If you are able to Transfer your Gamertag to a new Live ID it will put all of your app purchases on a Live ID with a single billing account and this will avoid any of the problems your current Live ID has.

To get back to your original issue, if you restore your phone, your app purchases are tied to the Gamertag, so as long as you are able to recover the account with the same gamertag as you have now you will retain all of your marketplace activity.

Transfering a gamertag from one Live ID to another is a process that Xbox developed, it isn’t something that the Windows Phone team or Zune team made that is why it is located solely on their platform, since its all the same account it will work fine for fixing your Live ID. You can transfer your Live ID to any email address that you have access to. But whichever you transfer it to you will need to set it up as the primary Live ID on your phone to have access to those apps. You will need to reinstall any apps purchased that you intend to use.

You have stated that you work in IT so I imagine you know how to back up your content before wiping your device.

I’m going to leave this case open, I want to hear from you that transfering your Gamertag to a new Live ID and using it on your phone worked and if you have any further problems.

And again, I apologize for how long this has taken to get an answer on this issue.

Regards,

Nathan W.

Microsoft Support.


— Original Message —
From : “My Name”
Sent : Friday, January 20, 2012 11:24:30 PM UTC
To : “Microsoft Support”
Subject : RE: SRX1165693580ID – Zune Live, Troubleshooting, The customer has multiple Zune tags associated to one Windows Live ID, Escalated

Thanks for the update Nathan.

If I’m to attempt the below via XBOX, which Live ID is causing the issue and which should I switch to?

My main Live ID is MyLongTermMainID@hotmail.com  can you re-confirm the second causing issue?   There may be others as our company is a MS partner, and my work email address may also be a LiveID to gain access to technet and other MS resources.

AnotherID@work.com

MyName@gmail.com

or another?  (bXXXX or bXXXXX@hotmail.com )

Thanks,

Me

From: Microsoft Support [mailto:WINMO.WMOS.WW.00.EN.STR.BEA.WP.T02.SPT.00.EM@css.one.microsoft.com]
Sent: Friday, January 20, 2012 6:41 PM
To: My Name
Subject: RE: SRX1165693580ID – Zune Live, Troubleshooting, The customer has multiple Zune tags associated to one Windows Live ID, Escalated

Greetings Dom,

I’m Nathan with Microsoft Support.

I apologize for the delay in response and how long this troubleshooting has taken to get resolved. it appears that your Zune account has two Windows Live ID’s associated with it located in two seperate regions. This is the cause of the conflict and we are working to unassociate it with one of the Live ID’s.

There may be a work around if you own an Xbox and are able to sign into the device, there is a process that lets xbox users unassociate accounts and establish a new association with a new Live ID. The process to do this on the Xbox is located here under Switch your gamertag to a different Windows Live ID. You might not be able to even sign in on the Xbox with this issue but its one possible work around.

I’m sending this to our account specalist and we should have everything fixed soon. We will be sure to send you another email with updates or a resolution for you.

I apologize for any inconvience this has caused.

Regards,

Nathan W.

Microsoft Zune Support.


— Original Message —
From : “My Name”
Sent : Thursday, January 05, 2012 5:58:47 PM UTC
To : “Microsoft Support”
Subject : RE: SRX1165693580ID – Zune Live, Troubleshooting, The customer has multiple Zune tags associated to one Windows Live ID, Escalated

Please see below, thanks:

This case has been re-opened. Before it was closed, we had sent you an email requesting some information from you for this case. We still need this information in order to proceed with this issue. Firstly, I want to verify,

are you currently located in the UK?
I currently spend most of time in the British Virgin Islands, but frequently travel back to the UK, and also the US, and access to my account details in all locations.

If not, where is your location?
Mainly BVI, followed by UK, then US – [edit this has since changed, and am now making everything US to keep it simple – phone, PC, IDs, everything]

Are you able to sign into any other Windows Live Services such as zune.net or xbox.com?
This is my account summary from Zune.net, when signed in. 

summary

  1. name:My Name update contact information
  2. email:My Name@hotmail.com
  3. address:c/o Incorrect UK Address
  4. phone number: correct US phone number
  5. password:******change password
  6. zune tag:blxxxxxxx
  7. Credit card: add / manage credit card
  8. billing information: update billing information

Windows Live, Skydrive, Hotmail, Messenger, Technet, MS Partner site, and all other MS sites work fine.

Can you sign into the Zune software?

I previously was able, now I get this error:

http://www.zune.net/en-US/support/webhelp/C00D1353.htm?&webhelp_mpver=4.8.2345.0&webhelp_id=C00D1353&webhelp_contextid=1&webhelp_originalid=C00D1353&webhelp_locale=en-US

I have actually tried all 3 locations on my account AND computer trying to get them to match and work properly.  Currently my PC is set for US.

If it makes it easier for my account to work in all 3 locations I need (UK, US and BVI), I am happy to pick 1 location and stick to it.  For payment to work, my main cards are all in $US, so It may be better for everything to be set to US, as long as I can still log in from the other locations.

I am still finding this incredible that geographic location is causing so much trouble, as I’m sure I’m not the only person that travels frequently, works as an ex-pat, or has more than one international location.   Given that I see Paul Allen’s (Microsoft Founder) mega yacht in the BVI area often enough, can I ask if he’s experiencing the same issues?

And when trying to sign into windowsphone.com, are you signing into the US page, or the UK page?  At the top right of the page it will show the region area.

When signed into WindowsPhone.com, I am in the US region.

Once you provide us with this information, we will be able to continue investigating this account for looking into a resolution.

Thanks,

My Name
My Signature

From: Microsoft Support [mailto:Zune_.0000.WW.00.EN.STR.BEA.ZD.T01.SPT.00.CH@css.one.microsoft.com]
Sent: Thursday, January 05, 2012 12:57 PM
To: My Name
Subject: SRX1165693580ID – Zune Live, Troubleshooting, The customer has multiple Zune tags associated to one Windows Live ID, Escalated

Hello Dominic,This case has been re-opened. Before it was closed, we had sent you an email requesting some information from you for this case. We still need this information in order to proceed with this issue. Firstly, I want to verify, are you currently located in the UK? If not, where is your location? Are you able to sign into any other Windows Live Services such as zune.net or xbox.com? Can you sign into the Zune software? And when trying to sign into windowsphone.com, are you signing into the US page, or the UK page? At the top right of the page it will show the region area. Once you provide us with this information, we will be able to continue investigating this account for looking into a resolution.Warmest regards,
Zune Customer Support
Microsoft respects your privacy. To learn more, please read our Privacy StatementMicrosoft Corporation
One Microsoft Way
Redmond, WA, USA 98052
